Our Programs


How Scouts are Grouped

The Boy Scouts of America breaks down the Scouting program according to age, grade, and rank to make sure that your child is working with fellow scouts in a comfortable and challenging environment. View the programs below to see which program your future scout would join.

Cub Scouts

The Pack

Cub Scouting is the foundation of Scouting. It is designed for boys and girls in kindergarten through fifth grades and/or ages 5 - 10. Cub Scouting involves the whole family as parents pitch in to plan and deliver activities. Cub Scouting is affirmative and fun focused. The program strives to provide Cubs with a foundation of knowledge that will be carried over to Troop Scouting. Cub Scouts work through 6 rankings (Lion, Tiger, Wolf, Bear, Webelos, and Arrow of Light) before becoming a Boy Scout. There are currently 1.3 million Cub Scouts and 395,000 adult volunteers in the United States.




The Troop

This is the traditional Scouting experience for young men in the fifth grade through high school. Service, community engagement, and leadership development become increasingly important parts of the program as youth lead their own activities and work their way toward earning Scouting’s highest rank, Eagle Scout. There are currently 855,000 Boy Scouts and 485,000 adult volunteers in the United States.

While there is guidance from experienced leaders, Boy Scouts take their own lead, exploring places they've never been as they dive into the rugged world of outdoor adventure. With a spirit of teamwork, they pack up their Scout gear and their sense of adventure, and dive into the learning and excitement that comes from being in the brotherhood of the Boy Scouts.